Free 5 Day Trial Latest Updates Video Tutorials

Advisory Board

Michele Barry, MD, FACP

Dr. Michele Barry, is the Senior Associate Dean for Global Health and Director of Global Health Programs in Medicine at Stanford. She was professor of medicine and global public health and director of the office of international health, Yale University School of Medicine, and was elected to membership in the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences in 2003. Dr. Barry co-founded the Yale International Health Program in 1981, which sends U.S. physicians-in-training to countries in the developing world to provide medical services, and helped develop the first U.S. certification examination in tropical medicine and travelers’ health. Dr. Barry is past president of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene.

John Bartlett, MD

Dr. John G. Bartlett, is Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. In 1970, he joined the faculty of UCLA, and then joined the faculty of Tuft’s University School of Medicine where he served as Associate Chief of Staff for Research at the Boston VA Hospital. In 1980, he moved to Hopkins to assume his current position. Dr. Bartlett has worked in several areas of research, all related to his specialty in infectious diseases. Major research interests have dealt with anaerobic infections, pathogenic mechanisms of Bacteroides fragilis, anaerobic pulmonary infections, and Clostridium difficile-associated colitis. Since moving to Hopkins in 1980, his major interests have been HIV/AIDS, managed care of patients with HIV infection and, most recently, bioterrorism. Dr. Bartlett has authored 470 articles, 282 book chapters and sixty-one editions of fourteen books.

Stephen Berger, MD

Dr. Stephen A. Berger is currently affiliated with the Tel Aviv Medical Center as both Director of Geographic Medicine and of Clinical Microbiology. He also serves as Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Tel-Aviv School of Medicine. He was awarded the New York Medical College Teaching Award five times, and received the Certificate of Knowledge in Clinical Tropical Medicine from the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene in 1998. Dr. Berger has published over 180 professional articles and books, including Introduction to Infectious Diseases and The Healthy Tourist.

Gerald Mandell, MD

Dr. Gerald L. Mandell is professor of internal medicine and the Owen R. Cheatham Professor of the Sciences at the University of Virginia where he headed the Division of Infectious Diseases for 33 years. Dr. Mandell is internationally known for his research in infectious diseases and phagocyte function. He is the founding editor of the award-winning “Principles and Practices of Infectious Diseases”, the standard textbook for the field. Mandell is a former president of the Infectious Diseases Society of America and received their highest award (The Bristol Award) for his contributions to the field. He is a Master of the American College of Physicians, and was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences.

Dan Shapiro, MD

Dr. Daniel Shapiro joined the University of Nevada School of Medicine as the Professor and H. Edward Manville, Jr. Endowed Chair of Internal Medicine in Reno. Dr. Shapiro, an expert in biodefense and infectious disease, headed the clinical microbiology laboratory at Lahey Clinic in Burlington, MA. Dr. Shapiro, who ran laboratories at Boston University Medical Center for 12 years, specializes in preparing clinical laboratories to respond to bioterror attacks. He has co-authored several protocols for hospitals and is a member of the American Society for Microbiology’s working group on bioterrorism. Dr. Shapiro is also an expert on diseases that are transmitted from animals to humans.

Past Advisors

Ethan Rubinstein, MD

Dr. Ethan Rubinstein was the Sellers professor of research in medicine and head of the section of Infectious Diseases at University of Manitoba. Dr. Rubinstein previously served as a professor of Internal Medicine at the Tel Aviv University and Head of Infectious Diseases Unit at the Chaim Sheba Medical Center in Israel. He was President of the International Congress of Chemotherapy; Secretary General of the International Society of Chemotherapy; and Chairman of the Israeli Society of Infectious Diseases, among many other prestigious positions.

Alan Tice, MD, FACP

Dr. Alan Tice was an Associate Professor at the John A. Burns School of Medicine, University of Hawaii. Prior to this position, Dr. Tice started an infectious diseases practice in Washington State. There he assembled a group of infectious diseases specialists who developed programs in outpatient parenteral antimicrobial therapy, clinical research and infection control. Dr. Tice founded the Outpatient Intravenous Infusion Therapy Association and was the Director of the Outcomes Registry organization he began. His scientific contributions include authoring over fifty articles and abstracts on subjects ranging from outpatient parenteral antibiotic therapy to urinary tract infections, new antibiotics and managed care. Dr. Tice served on the board of the Infectious Diseases Society of America and headed their Task Force on Quality Measures.